Indian Railways (Official website: Internet Booking site: is the state-owned railway company of India, which owns and operates most of the country's rail transport and infrastructure. Indian Railways has one of the largest and busiest rail networks in the world, transporting over 17 million passengers and more than 2 million tonnes of freight daily. It is the world's largest commercial or utility employer, with more than 1.4 million employees. The Indian Railways has a train network that is spread across the length and breadth of the country, covering 6,909 stations over a total route length of more than 63,327 kilometres. Indian Railways owns over 200,000 wagons, 50,000 coaches and 8,000 locomotives of rolling stock. Indian Railways is administered by the Ministry of Railways of the Government of India.

Today, Indian Railways offers diverse tourist routes, magnificent hotels on wheels with five-star services and Indrail Pass, ideal for extensive trouble-free tours across the country. Then hurry, don't miss your train !

Indian Railways has three important websites:

  • - Availability, Fare information and PNR Status for Indian Railways. This site is often mistyped as, and by users.
  • - IRCTC site, The official Indian Railways Online Booking website, often misspelt as, IRCT, IRTC, IRCYC, IRCRC and ICTC.
  • - Trains Timetable and current running information on current status of trains and general information about all the trains operated by Indian Railways.


    Best way of checking Indian Railways PNR Status is to go to and best way of making internet bookings/ of rail tickets is to go to

    Reservation Against Cancellation (RAC) means a passenger does not have a reserved berth, but he has sitting accommodation. Depepending on the number of waitlisted passengers, the reservation may be promoted to a confirmed berth when one becomes available due to last moment cancellations usually taking place close to the journey date. RAC passengers can board the train and can sit on the two side chairs. If a berth becomes available, one RAC passenger will get the berth, and the other RAC passenger can convert the two side chairs into a single berth.

    Waiting List (WL) means a passenger may not get any berth or sitting accommodation. If enough number of confirmed or RAC passengers cancel their reservations, he/she will be accommodated. The size of waiting queue for each train may vary. Once the maximum number of wait listed tickets have been issued, any further reservation requests are refused with REGRET status. It is not possible to purchase a ticket with REGRET status.

    Enquiry PNR Status Through SMS

    IRCTC (Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation) allow Passenger to check there PNR status using mobile phone through Sms . You can SMS your Pnr number to indian railways and then you will get a response back with reservation details including train information, train schedule,seat availability, train fare, train status, train time table, etc. such information on a mobile phone
    • SMS: PNR to 54959. For example PNR 3134567890
    • SMS: PNR to 139
    • SMS: PNR to 5676747
    • SMS: IRPNR to 57886
    Phone: Dial 139 for PNR enquiry, arrival departure of trains, fares, accommodation and availability


    Disclaimer: website is not affiliated with The Ministry of Railways, Government of India and does not reproduce, transmit, or store in its database any content of Indian Railways websites. Its purpose is to provide public with extended information about ticket booking and PNR status checking. For the official website, please visit

    @ 2013 Indian railway Online India
    All brands are trademarks of their respective owners.
    this site only for public help

    eXTReMe Tracker